Delete an event
If you do not want or need an event in your account any longer, you may be able to delete it. Events can be fully deleted as long as they have no payment transactions associated with them. If any payment transactions are recorded for an event, that event cannot be deleted, but you have the option to archive it or make it unpublished.
When you delete an event, all of the attendees associated with that event are also deleted. Deleted event data cannot be recovered, so be sure that this is the action you want, otherwise just use the archive option.
Reasons for deleting events
Here are the most common reasons why you may want to delete an event:
- It was created as a test event, and you no longer need it.
- You changed your mind about offering the event, and you no longer need it.
- No registrations were received for the event, and you no longer need it.
- Registrations were received for the event without any payments, and you don't need to refer to it.
When event deletion is possible, it can be a good option for keeping your account clean and organized.
How to delete events
There are two areas in your account that both provide options for deleting events.
From the Event List
Go to Events from the primary navigation menu, and locate the event you wish to delete. Use the delete icon that is found in the event box.
From the Event Details Page
Select the event you wish to delete, either by using the search bar or the event list. The Event Details page has three areas that offer you the option of deleting the event: the Tools bar, the Actions menu, and the left side Tools menu.
Delete event confirmation
Whenever you select the delete event option, a screen will appear asking you to confirm this choice.
If you select "Yes, delete" but the event has any payment transactions on it, a message will show up telling you to either unpublish or archive the event, as it cannot be deleted.